Expanded Celluloid, Extended Phonograph: Hangjun Lee & Chulki Hong

When 25 Jan 2016
8:00PM - 10:00PM
55 Walker Street
New York, NY 10013
United States
Enquiry (718) 330-0313

Korean filmmaker Hangjun Lee and improvising musician Chulki Hong have worked together since 2006 as the audiovisual research project “Expanded Celluloid, Extended Phonograph”. Their collaboration stimulates investigations into the performativity of practices in the darkroom, the screening room, the private recording/practice studio, and in public performances.

Film Walk
2012, 25min

Film Walk replaces the perforations in the film stock with optical sound head. The perforations do not create images produced by the gate movement, but make ‘a hole a sound’ by the artist’s hand and his step speed with the numbers of sound coinciding with the length of time.

Phantom Schoolgirl Army
2013, 20min

Phantom Schoolgirl Army is a powerful audiovisual performance based on a collection of military photographic portraits, and elaborates on the story of North Korean spies disguised as high school girls during the Yeosu-Suncheon rebellion of 1948. The South Korean government used this legend as anti-communist propaganda.

Born in 1977, Hangjun Lee is a filmmaker and independent curator who also works as a program director at EXiS in Seoul. He has curated screening and live media programs including Cinematic Divergence (2013), Mujanhyang (2014) for the National Museum of Contemporary Arts (MMCA) in Seoul, and Embeddedness: Artist Films and Videos from Korea 1960s to Now (2015) for the Tate Modern in London. His works are based on multi-projection and optical sound, often involving improvisations with a variety of artists.

Born in 1976, Hong Chulki is an improvising noise musician from Seoul, South Korea. With Choi Joonyong, he founded the first Korean noise music group, Astronoise, in 1997 and the experimental record label Balloon and Needle in 2000. His main instrument in the recent years is turntables, both amplified and acoustic. He has collaborated with several improvising/noise musicians including Ryu Hankil, Jin Sangtae, Joe Foster, Kevin Parks, Otomo Yoshihide, Sachiko M, Takahiro Kawaguchi, Jason Kahn, Bryan Eubanks, Will Guthrie, Aaron Dilloway and Okkyung Lee.

Photo courtesy of the organiser/s

For more information, please click here.