iscp open studios

When 25 Apr 2014 - 27 Apr 2014
Where iscp
1040 Metropolitan Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11211
United States
Enquiry (718) 387-2900

Opening reception: Friday, April 25, 7-9pm

Saturday, April 26th, 4pm: Panel Discussion: On Video bureau’s residency at ISCP with howie chen and sue hui, moderated by xiaofei mo

Sunday, April 27, 4pm: Panel Discussion: everywhere and nowhere: curatorial and critical ideas in a cosmopolitan world with marianna garin and john barrett-lennard, ISCP resident curators

The International Studio & Curatorial Program (ISCP) Spring Open Studios is a three-day exhibition of international contemporary art. The 36 artists and curators from 20 countries currently in residence present work in their studios. The studio is a generative space – part production site, office, laboratory and situation – and it can be argued that it is more significant today for artistic process than ever before. Open Studios invites the public to 36 “studio visits” to experience art in its place of origin and to share conversations with artists and curators from all over the world. Visitors will have access over the three days to international contemporary art practices in a studio setting as well as through an exhibition of moving image by artists from China.

Since 2011, ISCP has also hosted an institution-in-residence as part of Open Studios. This annual residency was initiated to support cultural exchange by bringing an international perspective into a local context. This year, ISCP has invited Video Bureau, a privately run, not-for-profit organization established in 2012 in Beijing and Guangzhou that focuses on video art. Over the course of Open Studios and through May 23rd, Video Bureau will be in residence at ISCP. New York-based independent curator Howie Chen, who travelled to China to research Video Bureau’s archives, will present an exhibition project based on this research.

Artists and curators participating in Open Studios:

Thora Dolven Balke (Norway) John Barrett-Lennard (Australia)
Javier Barrios (Norway) Maura Biava (The Netherlands) Melanie Bonajo (The Netherlands) Jenny Brockmann (Germany) Michel de Broin (Canada) Olaf Brzeski (Poland) Elaine Byrne (Ireland) Radovan Čerevka (Slovakia) Teng-Yuan Chang (Taiwan) Raimundo Edwards (Chile) Marianna Garin (Sweden) Michaela Gleave (Australia) Brett Graham (New Zealand) Manor Grunewald (Belgium) Terike Haapoja (Finland) Molly Haslund (Denmark) Toulu Hassani (Germany) Filip Jovanovski (Macedonia) Jacob Kirkegaard (Denmark) Viktor Kopp (Sweden) Anouk Kruithof (The Netherlands) Andrea Mastrovito (Italy) Gabriele Picco (Italy) Tobias Pils (Austria) Maria Rapicavoli (Italy) Richard Schur (Germany) Sonia Shiel (Ireland) Soda_Jerk (Australia) Asae Soya (Japan) Constantinos Taliotis (Cyprus) Axel Töpfer (Germany) Chun-Chi Wang (Taiwan) Andy Wauman (Belgium)

Photo courtesy of the organiser/s

For more information please click here