ISCP Spring Open Studios 2015

When 23 Apr 2015 - 25 Apr 2015
Where International Studio & Curatorial Program (ISCP)
1040 Metropolitan Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11211
United States

Opening Reception: Thursday, April 23, 6-9pm
A public introduction to Beta-Local: Saturday, April 25, 4pm

Spring Open Studios is a three-day free event when the public is invited to view international contemporary art at the International Studio & Curatorial Program (ISCP) in Brooklyn. The 28 innovative artists and curators from 17 countries currently in residence, including individuals from Asia, Europe, North and South America, will present work in their studios. The studio is a generative space – part production site, office, laboratory and situation – and it can be argued that the studio is more significant today for artistic process than ever before. Open Studios provides access for the public to experience 28 “studio visits,” to see and talk about art and curatorial practice in its place of origin and to share conversations with ISCP residents from all over the world.

In addition, Beta-Local, a non-profit arts organization based in San Juan, Puerto Rico, will be in residence at ISCP from April through June, and will take part in the Open Studios event. Dedicated to supporting and promoting aesthetic thought and practice, Beta-Local has developed a project for ISCP titled TODO TIPO DE FUEGO (All Kinds of Fire), which they describe as a “playlist of documents, images, music, publications and public presentations.” ISCP’s gallery will be organized with several different stations, each taking a different format according to a particular theme, and involving ISCP residents as well as New York City cultural practitioners.

During the April 23rd reception, at 7pm, ISCP is pleased to announce that Brooklyn City Council Member Antonio Reynoso will make remarks. Council Member Reynoso has been a steady advocate for and supporter of ISCP’s public programming since its move to East Williamsburg.

Participating artists and curators:

Rikke Benborg (Denmark) Sung-Chih Chen (Taiwan) Sun Choi (South Korea) Zeinab Shahidi Marnani (Iran) Silvia Giambrone (Italy) Ishu Han (China) Hannah Heilmann (Denmark) Mark Hilton (Australia) Isa Ho (Taiwan) Siegfried Hofer (Autria) Martin Höfer (Germany) Saskia Janssen (The Netherlands) Wanda Koop (Canada) Anjana Kothamachu (India) Aleksi Linnamaa (Finland) Zachari Logan (Canada) Kristina Matousch (Sweden) Elizabeth McIntosh (Canada) Alasdair Mcluckie (Australia) Ingo Mittelstaedt (Germany) Annesofie Sandal (Denmark) Jacolby Satterwhite (USA) Selma Selman (Bosnia and Herzegovina) Theodore Sims (Canada) Anne Sommer (Germany) Pilvi Takala (Finland) Tori Wrånes (Norway) Pleurad Xhafa (Albania)

Photo courtesy of the organiser/s

For more information, please click here.