Mivos & Redshift

When 29 Jun 2011
6:00PM - 9:00PM
Where Galapagos Art Space
16 Main Street
Brooklyn, NY 11201
United States
Enquiry 718.222.8500

Still from Samson Young’s Electric Kinderszenen, installation-performance, 2010.
Courtesy of the artist

Wednesday, June 29 2011, 6-9pm

Press Release:

An evening of world premieres by two of New York’s most innovative young ensembles. REDSHIFT and Mivos Quartetteam up for a two-set program of electroacoustic music. REDSHIFT unveils Arctic Sounds and Mivos presents new music by Tristan Perich and Samson Young.

REDSHIFT’s most ambitious project yet is Arctic Sounds: a full-length program of electroacoustic music that incorporates field recordings of Alaskan wildlife as captured by field researcher Kathy Turco. Arctic Sounds composers: Jad Abumrad (of WNYC’s Radiolab), Ryan Brown (Princeton, NJ), Garrett Byrnes (Washington DC), Richard Carrick (New York, NY), James Holt (New York, NY), Mary Kouyoumdjian (New York, NY), David Lang (New York, NY), Max Stoffregen (Austin, TX), Kirsten Volness (Providence, RI), Matthew Welch (New York, NY), Gordon Williamson (Hannover, Germany).

MIVOS Quartet will premiere two new works for string quartet and electronics by Tristan Perich and Samson Young. In Tristan Perich’s Salt, the acoustic string timbre fuses with 1-bit electronic instruments, sinewy and otherworldly. Salt is one of several of Perich’s recent works which refer to inorganic materials. He writes, “Something about those structures is interesting, in a physical/textural/emotional way. Salt I like in particular since it’s pretty much the only thing (besides water) that we put into ourselves that doesn’t come from other living things.” Samson Young’s new work for string quartet will combine influences from classical, pop, electronica, and noise music to find a unique path. Both Young’s and Perich’s work will be performed again by MIVOS on their Asia tour in August 2011.

For more information please click here.